With the first project I’ve tried not being selective about articles as I have in my past, using articles to transfer and be more pattern/unreadable-ish. I also decided to attempt a little parody like commentary on graffiti removal. Combined with reaching for more of a conceptual result by keeping it primarily black and white, as suggested in the article by Sol LeWitt from or Critical Theory readings.

newsborder

newsborder

frontpage

frontpage

In Order To Supress

In Order To Supress

In the second I tried diminishing the texture of an old canvas and collaged article body text (no images or headlines) from a single newspaper. I laid down a couple washed to reduce the ability to read the text and reduce the noise. Again inspired by Sol LeWitt, but this time his wall drawings, I resurrected the method I used to originally draw my characters. I this one I also attempted to draw a female face in my usual method. While it may not be clearly feminine, this is actually what should be done if I were to combat the issue of gender role conflicts. This face is quite androgynous which is something I’m actually very fond of. But I learned a few things from the second project.

I had denied it for a long time, but I see now how the faces are representing me, which is why they have been coming out as men. Before that though, the scribbles, are like thought or meditation. The rigid face is an attempt to solidify identity based on chaotic self-reflection.

scribble over newspaper

scribble over newspaper

08-030508-2009

08-030508-2009

